This website is intended for healthcare professionals

Awards & Appointments

Posted in Awards & Appointments on 21st Sep 2015

ACNR-SO15-full-high-rez-3The Academy of Medical Sciences announces new Fellows for 2015
ACNR’s founding Editor, Professor Roger Barker, has been elected a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences. He is Professor of Clinical Neuroscience and Honorary Consultant Neurologist, Addenbrooke’s Hospital and Department of Clinical Neurosciences, Cambridge, UK. Professor Barker is one of 48 researchers from across the UK who have been recognised for their contribution to the advancement of medical science. Academy Fellows are elected for excellence in medical research, for innovative application of scientific knowledge or for their conspicuous service to healthcare. See the full list at


ACNR-SO15-full-high-rez-3bThe 2015 Andrew Wilson Award
The 2015 Andrew Wilson award for services to people suffering from Restless Legs Syndrome (now known as the Willis-Ekbom disease) was presented to Professor K Ray Chaudhuri by Daragh Brogan, the Chief Executive of the only UK RLS charity, RLS;UK/Ekbom Society. Professor Chaudhuri set up the educational academic group RLS:UK with a multi disciplinary committee in 2000. He led several trials on RLS in the UK as well as setting up the only dedicated RLS clinic at Kings College and Kings College Hospital, London. Professor Chaudhuri also worked closely with Eileen Gill who ran a telephone advice service for RLS sufferers in the UK from the 1980’s. Prof Chaudhuri’s team with Dr Anna Sauerbier now offer a specific RLS remote advice service with a monthly telephone clinic service from Kings. Professor Chaudhuri is also leading a world first and UK based study addressing non motor symptoms of RLS and validating a RLS-non motor questionnaire in a NIHR portfolio adopted study.

ACNR-SO15-full-high-rez-3cHonour for Professor Hardy
Professor John Hardy, UCL Institute of Neurology, will be awarded this year’s “Hartwig Piepenbrock-DZNE Prize” honouring his contributions to the study of Alzheimer’s disease. The award ceremony will take place on World Alzheimer’s Day, September 21, 2015, in Bonn, Germany. Professor Hardy has made ground-breaking findings on the molecular causes of this brain disorder. His discoveries provide the basis for therapeutic approaches and potential medicines. Every two years the “Hartwig Piepenbrock-DZNE Prize” honours outstanding contributions to the study of neurodegenerative diseases. The prize is endowed by the Piepenbrock Group. The winner is chosen by an international committee under the coordination of the DZNE.


Download this Article